Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Dell R710 with PERC H700 or H200: Are SATA HDDs supported via these RAID controllers in XenServer 7.6?

Xen See

Question

Homelab noob here, thanks in advance for your help!

I need to know if SATA HDDs are compatible with XenServer 7.6CR when running in RAID on an H700 or H200 controller in a Dell R710 server.

According to XenServer's Hardware Compatibility List, the H700 and H200 only support SAS, not SATA. Am I to understand that SATA HDDs are not compatible with XenServer using Dell's H700 or H200 RAID controllers?

I'm building a homelab PoE security camera server / general virtualization server, and I have the following hardware:

• Dell R710 w/ 2x Xeon 5680 CPUs, 128GB ECC RAM (16x8GB), H200 RAID Controller, 6x 3.5" hotswap bays
  • 3x WD 300GB 2.5" SATA HDD (old, questionable reliability, but free)
  • 3x WD Purple 3TB 3.5" SATA Surveillance HDD ($$$)
  • 1x WD Blue 1TB 2.5" SATA HDD
  • also have a few 2.5" SSDs on hand
  • might swap the H200 for an H700 RAID controller because I thought it was more powerful? and seller offered free "upgrade", but now I'm worried about compatibility more than specs. Do I possibly want to consider a different RAID controller other than these two?
  • ***EDIT: I returned the three Western Digital Purple and Blue SATA HDDs after deciding that SAS HDD or any SSD would be preferable to SATA HDD if acquired cheaply enough
  • 6x Dell (Seagate ES.2) 3TB 7.2k RPM 6Gb/s 3.5" SAS HDD - Just found these for $37ea  on Amazon....

So as far as SATA vs. SAS compatibility with storage controllers in XenServer...this applies only to the disk where you install the hypervisor, correct? but XenServer would still be compatible with, for instance, reading data from an array of SATA drives on a NAS?