Updated Privacy Statement

XenServer Windows 10 VM is dropping files with write errors in Blue Iris IP Cam Software: How do I eliminate RAID read/write lag to optimize VM for Blue Iris Surveillance Software?

Xen See

Question

I'm fairly new at this hypervisor stuff, and not particularly experienced at hardcore IT. But my roommate bought a crappy Nest Cam, and I was so moved by the awful experience of the cloud-connected wifi surveillance cam subscription service racket that I built a Dell R710 homelab surveillance server running XenServer 7.6 and Blue Iris in a Windows 10 Pro VM. I realize this all might be easier if I just ran W10 bare metal, but I don't intend to max out this hardware with just cameras, hence why I'm trying to virtualize and leave some headroom for other fun stuff.

Initial Specs:

• Dell R710 w/ 2x Xeon 5660 2.80Ghz CPUs, 128GB ECC RAM (16x8GB), PERC H700, 6x 3.5" hotswap bays
  • 6x Seagate 15k.7 3.5" 450GB SAS drives
  • XenServer installed on Disks 0 and 1 in RAID-0 (I'm aware there is no redundancy or failover protection with this setup, risk i'm willing to take until i have more spinning disks)
  • Windows 10 VM and, importantly, the camera footage both stored in the same 4 disk RAID-10 array on Disks 2, 3, 4, and 5