Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Stuck at installation of Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops

Sander Matthijsse

Question

Hello,

I'm new at Citrix XenDesktop. After a bit of research i wanted to give XenDesktop a try.

Signed-up for the 90 day trail period and downloaded Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7 1903.iso

With hyper-v created a Server 2016 server, connected to our domain and did al the patches and updates.

Then the installation begon using this guide: https://www.citrix.com/products/citrix-virtual-apps-and-desktops/resources/reviewers-guide/

Step 1.1 went fine. Clicked on Delivery Controller under Get Started and after 20 minutes, it installed everything on this server.

(See Photo 1)

Then Step 1.2: Start Studio for the first time and build a new site.

This is where I get stuck. (See Photo 3)

Instead of the Welcome to Citrix Studio screen, at step 1.2 in the guide, i have to enter a Controller address to get started.

What do I enter here? I installed everything on this machine so should it then be this machine aka VM1?

I tried to enter VM1.domainname.local, or just localhost but it did not work.

See photo 4.

What is it that I'm doing wrong?

1.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

13 answers to this question

Hi sander,

This issue should be exact the one described in the studio prompt dialog, which is studio cannot find a working CCS in the given DDC.

But it should be always OK if we just fresh-install a DDC(with studio) then launch the studio in the local DDC machine.

Some check points may be help to locate into the root cause:

1. Does DDC machine has enough memory, 6GB is the minimize size we supported for a DDC deployment.

2. Does Studio was launched in the local DDC machine, make sure domain joined and login with a domain account(not a local admin)

3. Check if the CCS works well in the local DDC, the Citrix Configuration Service should keep running, actually all Citrix * service should keep running in a normal DDC (refer to pic-1)