Welcome to our new Citrix community!

WEM new install, cannot connect to infrastructure server

John Long

Question

This is my first attempt to install this. I've read the manual and a couple how to guides with no luck getting it working. I have installed WEM 4.4 on server 2016 in a test environment. I have 2 VM's, one for the DB server (sql server 2014 standard) and the other for the Infrastructure server.

I was able to create the database and enter and save the configuration in the WEM Infrastructure service configuration console successfuly.

When I try to open the WEM admin console and connect I get this error:

Specified Infrastructure Server seems to be offline or have a wrong database configuration. Please check the configuration and try again.

I've turned off the windows firewall on both machines. I've tried connecting to the host name, FQDN, localhost and 127.0.0.1. All the ports were left default during installation. Port 8284 is listening on the infrastructure server.

Any guidance is appreciated!

Thanks.

8 answers to this question

Got it fixed. I must start by saying I'm not an SQL administrator and truthfully I've only installed SQL server a handful of times in the past 15 years. So, with that disclaimer out of the way here it is.

I found this error in the event viewer under Norskale Broker Service. Login failed for user 'vuemUser'.

So I started working my way backwards. I eventually landed in the SQL Studio Server Properties on the Security tab. Under Server Authentication, Windows Authentication mode was selected. I selected SQL Server and Windows Authentication mode then restarted the DB service.

I was then able to login to the WEM management console!

Hope this helps someone else.

• Like 3

Hi John.

Please refer to the possible solution below:

SOLUTION #1:  
Launch the Broker Service Configuration console on the WEM Broker and enter in the appropriate information to point to the correct WEM site.