Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Execute Script on VDI after MCS Provisioning completed

Aaron Stovall

Question

*Edit, Just realized I posted this in XenApp and not XenDesktop.  Is there a way to move this post to the proper location?*

Hello,

I am relatively new to working with MCS and was wondering if there is a way for a VDI to automatically execute a script after the provisioning process has completed.  I found a reference to some Before/After script options via the registry from the following post, but I have not been able to find any documentation or references to how they work exactly. http://discussions.citrix.com/topic/378286-customizing-machine-creation-services/

I tested this process out and the scripts do indeed execute, but I can't tell specifically where in the provisioning process they actually execute.  As a quick test, I had them both just echo %ComputerName% to a text file and upon reviewing, it would seem that the scripts executed before the machine was either bound to AD or was assigned it's final hostname.  Both the before and after scripts yield the same results.  

I am personally looking to execute a script after the provision process has been completed and the hostname has been set so that I can run a script against it to do some final configurations that I don't want baked into a master image.  Additionally I don't want to trigger these via GPO, SCCM, etc. 

Has anyone done something similar to this?  Am I going about this all wrong?

Thanks

Aaron

2 answers to this question

I just asked this exact question of my TRM and was told this: