Photo

Able to start apps with domain admins but not domain users

Started by Paul Jewell , 17 March 2017 - 02:20 PM
9 replies to this topic

Best Answer George Spiers , 23 March 2017 - 07:10 PM

You could publish say Notepad and see if that launches through Citrix. You can also use Group Policy to add users to the Direct Access users group on the Citrix server.

Open Citrix studio and make sure licenses are available, I am gathering that you have installed all Citrix roles on a single server?

Having all your components AND the application on the one server might be the cause of your problems. I'd recommend deploying a third server and moving the application and VDA software to that machine.

Paul Jewell Members

Paul Jewell
  • 5 posts

Posted 17 March 2017 - 02:20 PM

Hello All, 

First time asking for help here so please the lack of information. I will provide whatever else is needed on request. 

I am a developer attempting to get familiar with citrix xenapp offerings. I have started using the developer license for my testing. I have two machines, both windows server 2012 R2. One is a active director DC where I have created a new forest. The second machine is joined to the active directory and is where citrix studio is installed. I have gone through most of the standard procedure and now I have an app available in storefront.

Everything worked all well when I used the domain admin account, then I tried to add a second account to the active directory and use that. I was able to log into storefront with the second account, but starting the app from storefront froze at "Please wait for the local session manger" for a while and then vanished. 

-adding the user to the "remote Desktop Users" group had no effect

-adding the user to the "domain admins" group fixed the issue completely, but this is not desirable because I do not want them to have admin privileges.