Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Nested Hypervisors in Xenserver 7

John Fullbright

Question

Hi All,

I installed Xenserver 7 yesterday.  Today I think I want to play with nested hypervisors.  I was looking on xen.org, and it seems I need to add two parameters and change 1.  I have some prior experience making templates, and this looks doable. http://wiki.xen.org/wiki/Nested_Virtualization_in_Xen

Has anyone actually tried it yet?  If so, would you care to share your experiences?

TIA

J

10 answers to this question

It's doable, known to work, but is of course unsupported. Have not played with (yet) myself, but may. Be cautious about trying to run newer version of XenServer under of older ones as not all functionality may be recognized in terms of how in particular connectivity is handled up the chain.

-=Tobias

Keep in mind that when running a hypervisor under another hypervisor CPU virtualization extensions are not available for the 2nd hypervisor. So you can only run a 2nd hypervisor that is able to work without those virtualization extensions. Xen for instance can do this but it losses certain capabilities that will limit its functionality and lower its speed.

There are also some hypervisors that can emulate those CPU virtualization extensions for VM's. So these will provide full fucntionality to the 2nd hypervisor though with reduced performance.

So running a hypervisor under another hypervisor is never recommended for production use, there are just too many downsides. For testing it might be fine. (I sometimes run XenServer under Vmware player/Virtualbox on my Windows desktop, to find out if a certain driver is available, or how to make yum install work under XenServer 7.0) For real testing scenarios I keep some old servers and storage devices though.

Hi Willem,

"Keep in mind that when running a hypervisor under another hypervisor CPU virtualization extensions are not available for the 2nd hypervisor."