Photo

Why VMs in XenDesktop groups always shutdown/reboot automatically?

Started by chris lu , 19 September 2011 - 02:42 AM
13 replies to this topic

chris lu Members

chris lu
  • 10 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 02:42 AM

Dear Guys,
I'm a beginner for the Xendesktop, I found the VMs in the groups always shutdown or reboot automatically.
And if no any desktop connection, it will be boot up automatically.

Is there any settings on the Server or Policy? How to change it?

William Charnell Citrix Employees

William Charnell
  • 264 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 03:20 PM

XenDesktop 5 (and 5.5) provide mechanisms to power manage the desktop machines automatically, and this is normally configured using the 'Power Management' page of the wizard that you get to from the 'Edit Desktop Group' action. Also see this page in the edocs for more information:

http://support.citrix.com/proddocs/topic/xendesktop-rho/cds-control-power-management-rho.html

Regards
William

Mark Barlam Members

Mark Barlam
  • 25 posts

Posted 22 September 2011 - 12:35 PM

In testing I've found that you might have to set the Peak Hours to the entire day if you never want the VM's to Shutdown/Reboot automatically.
<div><div>Desktop Studio > Assignements > Edit Desktop Group > Power Management > Set Peak hours to Green Bar for the entire day. Do the same for Weekends if you wish.
</div>
</div>
<div></div>
<div></div>

Attached Files

Mark Barlam Members

Mark Barlam
  • 25 posts

Posted 26 September 2011 - 08:15 PM

WIlliam, I have a client that wants their VDM's to never shut down ever. They are currently using "Existing" Private Desktops.
<div></div>
<div>Doing a 1 to 1 assignment, my post above seems to fix this issue.
</div>
<div>For AD Group assignment (Existing/Pooled), I'm still having non-used machines shutting down.
</div>
<div></div>
<div>Is there a powershell script to run against a Desktop Group, Catalog, or Host to disable power management completely?
</div>
<div></div>
<div>thx.