Photo

Scheduled Metadata Backups

Started by Andrew Levine , 24 February 2009 - 01:56 PM
7 replies to this topic

Andrew Levine Members

Andrew Levine
  • 203 posts

Posted 24 February 2009 - 01:56 PM

I am still new to linux/xenserver so bear with me. I want to schedule metadata backups to a windows share. Is this possible?

If not, what is the best way for me to get metadata info to tape backup? We have 1 xenserver connected to a FC San. This xenserver is the only Linux server we have. Everything else is windows.

Also, when i schedule the metadata backup via xsconsole, how do I know which SR it is going to? I'd prefer it go to to Local Storage. I see "Pool Metadata Backup" on all 3 of my SR's (Local Storage, and two SAN-based SR's).

Basically:

1) How can I automate the metadata backup to a windows share?

2) If #1 is not possible, how do I direct all VM's to have their metadata backed up to Local storage?

3) Any other suggestions?

Thanks!

Guest Members

• 40 posts

Posted 24 February 2009 - 02:32 PM

Hi Andrew,

You can install Xencenter console on Windows machine and create a script (.cmd for example) that use "xe" command. In this mode, you can export on windows share.

If you see Documentation:
http://docs.xensource.com/XenServer/5.0.0/1.0/en_gb/reference-5.0.0-1.0-en_gb.pdf
At page 11-12 you can find command to Export VM, VM Metadata etc.

Bye
Gio

Helpful Answer

Andrew Levine Members

Andrew Levine
  • 203 posts

Posted 24 February 2009 - 02:46 PM

Gio,

Thanks for the reply. Another question. I see how to use the XE command from within windows to export metadata for a specific VM. But I do not see a way to do it for all vm's at once. Am I missing something?

Thanks,
Andrew

Guest Members

• 40 posts

Posted 02 April 2009 - 04:07 PM

Hi Andrew,

Excuse for delay: I was out.

For your Problem, you have to work with VM parameter .

You have to find a parameter that is Equal on all VM.

To obtain parameter list you can use: xe vm-param-list uuid=